Sierra Club Home Page





Iowa issues

See other pages on our website


My backyard


Local Iowa Groups   




Political Information for Iowa


Political Issues

During the 2014 election season, the Chapter will be sending to Iowa legislative candidates documents related to the issues that are important to Sierra Club members.  The documents will be distributed weekly and then listed in this section.

Making Government Work for the People: Voter-owned clean election funding

Voting is a Right for All US Citizens

Full Funding for REAP: Protecting Iowa's Natural Areas, Soil Conservation, Water Quality and Historical Resources

Natural Resources & Outdoor Recreation Trust Fund

Feed-in Tariffs...Providing certainty to all parties

Nutrient Credit Trading


State Election Information

This year, the Chapter developed an insert in the Iowa Sierran newsletter that provides our members with information on how to advance environmental issues, how to acquaint candidates on environmental issues how to communicate with legislators once their elected and other information we hope our members will find informative.  See State Election Information

2014 Endorsements

The Iowa Chapter has released the names of candidates it will has endorsed in the 2014 election.

Bruce Braley Endorsed for US Senate

Dave Loebsack Endorsed for US House

Jack Hatch Endorsed for Iowa Governor

See the 2013-14 Iowa Legislative Scorecard

State Candidates


2012 Endorsements

The Iowa Chapter has determined which candidates it will endorse during the 2012 election.  See who they are here.


Clean Water Report Card

See how Iowa's delegation in the U.S. House of Representatives scored on Sierra Club's Clean Water Report Card





Last Updated 08.28.14


Iowa Legislature:

Find your legislator


Iowa House Switchboard
(During session only)

Iowa Senate Switchboard
(During session only)

To get your Iowa legislators' names, addresses, and
phone numbers at any time of the year,
call 515-281-5129


Governor of Iowa:

Gov. Terry Branstad
State Capitol
1015 E. Grand Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50319
Telephone: 515-281-5211
E-Mail: click here



U.S. Senate:

Charles E. Grassley (R)
135 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
Telephone: 202-224-3744
Fax: 202-224-6020
E-Mail: click here


Tom Harkin (D)
731 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
Telephone: 202-224-3254
Fax: 202-224-3969

TDD: 202-224-4633
E-Mail: click here

Up to Top


U.S. House:

Bruce Braley (D) - District 1
2263 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515
Telephone: 202-225-2911
E-Mail: click here

David Loebsack (D) - District 2
1527 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515
Phone: 202-225-6576
Fax: 202-226-0757
E-Mail: click here


Tom Latham (R) - District 3
2217 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
Toll Free:866-428-5642
Phone: 202-225-5476
Fax: 202-225-3301
E-Mail: click here

Steven King (R) - District 4
2210 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515
Telephone: 202-225-4426
Fax: 202-225-3193
E-Mail: click here

Up to Top


U.S. President:

Barack Obama
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Ave., NW
Washington, D.C. 20500
Telephone: 202-456-1111
Switchboard: 202-456-1414
FAX: 202-456-2461

TTY/TDD:  202-456-6213
Visitors Office: 202-456-2121

E-Mail: click here

Up to Top



See how your legislator vote on environmental issues during

the 2009-2010 Iowa Legislative Session


Iowa Chapter Home

Take Action

Get Outdoors

Good Government

Iowa Sierran Newsletter

Legislative Info

Political Info

Contact Us





Explore, Enjoy and Protect



Make a Non-Deductible Donation

 to the Iowa Chapter