2012 Endorsements


Poll after poll illustrates the publicís support for environmental and public health protections. We must change the direction of our state toward protection of our precious natural resources and ensure that the government, corporations and citizens each do their part to ensure a clean and safe environment for our families and our future. 

Sierra Club is one of the few environmental organizations that endorse candidates for political office. In making endorsements, we value candidatesí views on issues affecting conservation and the environment. As a part of our process of deciding whether to make an endorsement in the upcoming election, the Chapter carefully considers incumbents' demonstrated commitment to protecting the environment.  Other candidates are asked to share their views on critical issues listed in a questionnaire. Candidates' answers are not shared beyond the Chapter leadership.  This process helps the Chapter make an informed decision on whether to endorse a candidate and communicate that information to our Iowa members.


The following candidates for the 2012 election have received Sierra Club endorsement.


U. S. President

Barack Obama


U. S. House of Representatives

Bruce Braley, 1st District 

David Loebsack, 2nd District 


Iowa Senate

District Name City
18 Janet Petersen Des Moines
28 John Beard Decorah
30 Jeff Danielson Waterloo
34 Liz Mathis Cedar Rapids
48 Nate Willems Lisbon
50 Pam Jochum Dubuque


Iowa House of Representatives

District Name City
15 George Warren Yaple Council Bluffs
20 Greg Nepstad Panora
29 Dan Kelley Newton
32 Ruth Ann Gaines Des Moines
34 Bruce L. Hunter Des Moines
35 Ako Abdul-Samad Des Moines
36 Marti Anderson Des Moines
41 Jo Oldson Des Moines
43 Susan Judkins Clive
45 Beth Wessel-Kroeschell Ames
46 Lisa Heddens Ames
47 Donovan Olson Boone
53 Sharon Steckman Mason City
58 Tom Schueller Maquoketa
59 Bob Kressig Cedar Falls
61 Anesa Kajtazovic Waterloo
65 Tyler Olson Cedar Rapids
66 Art Staed Cedar Rapids
67 Mark Seidl Cedar Rapids
71 Mark Smith Marshalltown
74 Dave Jacoby Coralville
85 Vicki Lensing Iowa City
86 Mary Mascher Iowa City
90 Cindy Winckler Davenport
100 Charles Isenhart Dubuque